Feb 132018



Dr Reddy (second from left) receives the award from Dilip Shanghvi and Prof Vishwajit Nimgaonkar.

The awards were presented by Prof. Vishwajit Nimgaonkar, Professor of Psychiatry and Human Genetics at the University of Pittsburgh, USA and Mr. Dilip Shanghvi, Managing Director, Sun Pharma




Sun Pharma Science Foundation recognizes Indian scientists for exemplary contribution in pharma & medical science

New Delhi – February 13, 2018: Sun Pharma Science Foundation, a non-profit organization registered under Societies Registration Act announced the Sun Pharma Science Awards to Indian Scientists for their outstanding work and exemplary contribution to medical research.

These awards are presented in two categories – The Sun Pharma Research Awards for outstanding scientists and Sun Pharma Science Scholar Awards for young researchers. The winners for both these awards are identified in two sub-categories – Medical Sciences and Pharmaceutical Sciences. An eminent jury panel comprising well-known scientists from India selected the final winners. These Awards are presented annually to Indian scientists & young researchers working in India and abroad.

The awards were presented by Prof. Vishwajit Nimgaonkar, Professor of Psychiatry and Human Genetics at the University of Pittsburgh, USA and Mr. Dilip Shanghvi, Managing Director, Sun Pharma. Sun Pharma Research Award Winners for 2016 Medical Sciences – Basic Research Award Winner Dr. Rajan Sankaranarayanan Chief Scientist CSIR-Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology Uppal Road, Hyderabad – 500 007, India Dr. Sankaranarayanan receives this award for his outstanding contributions in the area of protein biosynthesis, by studying proofreading mechanisms using structural biology approaches.

Image result for srinivasa reddy ncl

Dr. D. Srinivasa Reddy Senior Scientist Division of Organic Chemistry CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory Dr. Homi Bhabha Road, Pune 411008, India

Dr. Reddy receives this award for his excellent work in the area of total synthesis of biologically active natural products and medicinal chemistry using “silicon incorporation approach” towards identification of lead molecules of therapeutic potential.

The research interests of his group lie in issues related to application of oriented organic synthesis, in particular total synthesis of biologically active natural products, medicinal chemistry and crop protection. This team has been credited with having accomplished total synthesis of more than 25 natural products with impressive biological activities. “Some of our recent achievements include identification of potential leads, like antibiotic compound based on hunanamycin natural product for treating food infections, anti-diabetic molecule in collaboration with an industry partner and  anti-TB compound using a strategy called ‘re-purposing of a drug scaffold’,” said Reddy.

A total of two awardees out of four were from CSIR institutes. In addition to Reddy, Rajan Shankarnarayanan, CSIR – CCMB, Hyderabad (basic sciences), also was conferred with the award. Vikram Mathews, CMC, Vellore (medical research) and Prof Ashish Suri, AIIMS, New Delhi (clinical research), were the others to receive the awards.

With more than 80 scientific publications and 35 patents, Reddy is one of the most prominent scientists in the city and has already been honoured with the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize in chemical sciences. Reddy is also a nominated member of the scientific body of Indian Pharmacopoeia, government of India and was  elected as a fellow of the Telangana and Maharashtra Academies of Sciences in addition to the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI).

About Sun Pharma Science Foundation

Sun Pharma Science Foundation is a non-profit organization registered under Societies Registration Act. It promotes scientific research in the field of Medical and Pharmaceutical Sciences in the country through encouragement and rewarding excellence in research by channelizing both national and international knowledge and expertise. The sole mission of the Foundation is “to promote Medical and Pharmaceutical Research in India by rewarding excellence and identifying sources of knowledge and expertise”. The Sun Pharma Science Foundation is an independent Society managed by an autonomous Governing Council and all the Council Members are independent and have no interest in the commercial activities of SunPharmaceutical Industries Limited. The Foundation is chaired by Prof. Virander S. Chauhan, D Phil (Oxon), J. C. Bose Fellow (DST), Distinguished Biotechnology Research Professor, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi.



 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: